The Mix: Americana Music Awards 2012

Sep 6, 2012

When the Americana Music Association convenes in Nashville on Sept. 12-15 for its annual conference, it'll be met by another incredible year of festival performances and showcases. While the daytime panels and discussions reflect the organization's dedication to its mission, the nighttime showcases, parties and concerts are what will make the passion of the genre so difficult to ignore. This year, the AMA welcomes legends — Bonnie Raitt, Richard Thompson, Booker T. Jones, Rodney Crowell, John Hiatt — as well as a slew of fresh young talent. That pool includes rising stars like Sara Watkins, Eilen Jewell, Corb Lund and Kasey Chambers, as well as AMA newbies like Brandi Carlile, The Dunwells, John Fullbright and many more.

If all those names — and the enormous talent that comes with them — haven't turned you on to the glory of Americana music quite yet, check out this mix of music by this year's AMA award nominees, presenters and showcase artists.

NPR Music's Ann Powers and Folk Alley's Jessie Scott will host the live webcast. Join us on Sept. 12 at 8 p.m. ET to listen to the event.

Click for more information on the AMA Festival and Awards Show.

Artists In This Mix

Alabama Shakes • Amanda Shires • Bearfoot • Bonnie Raitt • Booker T. Jones • Brandi Carlile • Buddy Miller • Carolina Chocolate Drops • The Carper Family • Chris Thile & Michael Daves • The Civil Wars • Corb Lund • Darrell Scott • Dawes • The Deep Dark Woods • The Dunwells • Eilen Jewell • Gillian Welch • Gretchen Peters • Hayes Carll • Humming House • Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit • Jill Andrews • Jim Lauderdale • John Fullbright • Justin Townes Earle • Kasey Chambers & Shane Nicholson • John Hiatt • Luther Dickinson • Mary Gauthier • Patty Griffin • Paul Thorn • Punch Brothers • Richard Thompson • Robert Ellis • Rodney Crowell • Sallie Ford & The Sound Outside • Sara Watkins • Sarah Jarosz • Shovels & Rope • Steep Canyon Rangers • Steve Earle • The Trishas


Album of the Year

Here We Rest, Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit

I'll Never Get Out of This World Alive, Steve Earle

The Harrow & The Harvest, Gillian Welch

This One's For Him: A Tribute to Guy Clark, Various Artists

Artist of the Year

Gillian Welch

Hayes Carll

Jason Isbell

Justin Townes Earle

Emerging Artist of the Year

Alabama Shakes


The Deep Dark Woods

Robert Ellis

Song of the Year

Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit, "Alabama Pines"

Sarah Jarosz, "Come Around"

Patty Griffin, "I Love" (Written by Tom T. Hall)

Steve Earle, "Waitin' on the Sky"

Instrumentalist of the Year

Buddy Miller

Chris Thile

Darrell Scott

Dave Rawlings

Duo/Group of the Year

Carolina Chocolate Drops

The Civil Wars

Gillian Welch & Dave Rawlings

Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit

Punch Brothers

Copyright 2012 Folk Alley. To see more, visit