WDIY Classics http://wdiy.org en WDIY Classics Presents "Classical Music for Film" http://wdiy.org/post/wdiy-classics-presents-classical-music-film <p style="margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt;">&nbsp;</p><p><span style="font-size: 10pt; font-family: Arial,sans-serif;">Host Karen El-Chaar provides a musical preview of "Classical Music for Film," the February 8th concert program of the Allentown Symphony Orchestra. From 10:00 to 11:00 &nbsp;a.m. conductor Diane Wittry, Concertmaster Eliezer Gutman and Conducting Fellow Jane Brown join us in the studio to discuss the program selections, composers, guest artists and more.&nbsp;</span></p><p style="margin: 0in 0in 0.0001pt;">&nbsp;</p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 19:06:14 +0000 Wagner Previato 34554 at http://wdiy.org Allan Birney on WDIY Classics http://wdiy.org/post/allan-birney-wdiy-classics <p>Host Waldemar Vinovskis talks with Allan Birney, Music Director of the Pennsylvania Sinfonia Orchestra about their next concert "Kaleidoscopic Sounds" with piano soloist Dudana Mazmanishvili happening Saturday, November 9<sup>th</sup> at First Presbyterian Church Allentown at <span data-term="goog_748437935" tabindex="0">7:30 p.m.</span> (Original air date November 8, 2013.)</p> Fri, 08 Nov 2013 17:52:25 +0000 Rebecca Walz 29653 at http://wdiy.org Gabriela Lena Frank on WDIY Classics http://wdiy.org/post/gabriela-lena-frank-wdiy-classics <p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Ellis Finger talks with Gabriela Lena Frank, who is doing a residency at Lafayette College which will result in a new commissioned work for the Lafayette choirs, guest vocal soloists, and the Chiara String Quartet, to be presented <span data-term="goog_961726159" tabindex="0">Sunday, April 14</span>. (Original air date September 11, 2013.)</p> Wed, 18 Sep 2013 02:07:47 +0000 Rebecca Walz 26682 at http://wdiy.org Bethlehem American Legion on Community Band of the Lehigh Valley http://wdiy.org/post/bethlehem-american-legion-community-band-lehigh-valley <p></p><p></p><p></p><p><span style="color: black;">George Fennell interviews Mitch Huston, business manager of the Bethlehem American Legion Band, during today's program. Mitch is the son of the founder, Ray Huston, who just retired as director after 66 years. George Fennel took over the post in March and plays some selections recorded by the band.</span></p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 14:06:36 +0000 Rebecca Walz 25976 at http://wdiy.org Bethlehem American Legion on Community Band of the Lehigh Valley Classical Pianist Charisse Baldoria on WDIY Classics http://wdiy.org/post/classical-pianist-charisse-baldoria-wdiy-classics <p></p><p></p><p>Host Ellis Finger welcomes Charisse Baldoria, classical pianist and professor at Bloomsburg University, to the studio. She will be performing as part of the Vesper Concert Series at 5pm at the Central Moravian Church. (Original air date August 7, 2013.)</p> Thu, 08 Aug 2013 18:12:01 +0000 Rebecca Walz 24751 at http://wdiy.org Classical Pianist Charisse Baldoria on WDIY Classics Pianist Robin Spielberg on WDIY Classics http://wdiy.org/post/pianist-robin-spielberg-wdiy-classics <p></p><p></p><p>Host George Fennell&nbsp; interviews highly-acclaimed pianist Robin Spielberg<strong>,</strong> who is best known for her classical music, American standards and her own original material.&nbsp; She is also author of the book <em>Naked on the Bench</em>. Robin will be performing on August 5<sup>th</sup>at the Central Moravian Church as part of Musikfest 2013.</p> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 16:23:14 +0000 Rebecca Walz 24368 at http://wdiy.org Pianist Robin Spielberg on WDIY Classics The Marine Band of Allentown Featured on "Community Bands of the Lehigh Valley" http://wdiy.org/post/marine-band-allentown-featured-community-bands-lehigh-valley <p></p><p>WDIY began its new monthly feature “Community Bands of the Lehigh Valley” this morning as part of its WDIY Classics program. The monthly program will air at 11am on the last Monday of the month for the next year, culminating with the Concert Bands International Convention happening at Miller Symphony Hall in March, 2014.</p> Mon, 29 Apr 2013 16:05:38 +0000 Rebecca Walz 19142 at http://wdiy.org Schadt String Finalists Perform on WDIY Classics http://wdiy.org/post/schadt-string-finalists-perform-wdiy-classics <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Host Waldemar Vinovskis talks with Sang Lee and Ben Capps, both finalists in the 17th Annual Schadt String Competition for Cello, happening March 1-3 at Miller Symphony Hall. Each cellist also performs live in the studio during the interview.</p> Fri, 01 Mar 2013 17:34:39 +0000 Rebecca Walz 15918 at http://wdiy.org Schadt String Finalists Perform on WDIY Classics Eugene Albulescu Interview on WDIY Classics http://wdiy.org/post/eugene-albulescu-interview-wdiy-classics <p>WDIY Classics is an enticing exploration of music from the Baroque to the contemporary with interviews, concert listings, themed shows and more. This week, host Waldemar Vinovskis interviews award-winning performer, Eugene Albulescu.</p> Fri, 12 Oct 2012 15:50:18 +0000 Rebecca Walz 8633 at http://wdiy.org Eugene Albulescu Interview on WDIY Classics