WDIY http://wdiy.org en Federal Court Throws Out Health Care Subsidies In 36 States http://wdiy.org/post/federal-court-throws-out-health-care-subsidies-36-states Julie Rovner of Kaiser Health News explains a federal appeals court ruling Tuesday that overturns subsidies provided to low- and middle-income people in states that use the federal health exchanges. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 17:13:00 +0000 editor 44203 at http://wdiy.org FAA Prohibits U.S. Airlines From Flying To Tel Aviv http://wdiy.org/post/faa-prohibits-us-airlines-flying-tel-aviv The Federal Aviation Administration has issued a 24-hour ban on flights to and from the Tel Aviv airport.<p>"The notice was issued in response to a rocket strike which landed approximately one mile from Ben Gurion International Airport on the morning of July 22, 2014," the FAA said in a statement.<p><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/22/333908274/as-kerry-tries-for-ceasefire-attacks-continue-in-gaza">As we reported earlier</a>, some American carriers had already started canceling flights to and from Israel. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:54:00 +0000 editor 44201 at http://wdiy.org FAA Prohibits U.S. Airlines From Flying To Tel Aviv Appeals Court Strikes Down Subsidies In Federal Health Exchange http://wdiy.org/post/appeals-court-strikes-down-subsidies-federal-health-exchange A three-judge panel at the U.S. Appeals Court for the D.C. Circuit threw the fate of an important part of the Affordable Care Act into doubt Tuesday.<p>In a 2-1 decision, the court ruled that the Internal Revenue Service lacked the authority to allow subsidies to be provided in exchanges not run by the states. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:31:00 +0000 editor 44202 at http://wdiy.org 'Audience Measurement': How Networks And Critics Are Wrestling With Numbers http://wdiy.org/post/audience-measurement-how-networks-and-critics-are-wrestling-numbers If the Television Critics Association press tour of 2014, wrapping up Tuesday and Wednesday with presentations from PBS, has had a catchphrase, it's "audience measurement."<p>Critics heard an extended presentation from Nielsen on the very first day of tour about the company's plans to begin measuring viewership on mobile devices and, more generally, about its scramble to keep up – catch up, really – with the way television works now. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:28:00 +0000 Linda Holmes 44200 at http://wdiy.org 'Audience Measurement': How Networks And Critics Are Wrestling With Numbers Tweeting From A Conflict Zone: Does It Help Or Hurt News Reporting? http://wdiy.org/post/tweeting-conflict-zone-does-it-help-or-hurt-news-reporting As Gaza, Ukraine and Syria trend on Twitter, has social media changed the way conflicts are covered? Host Michel Martin finds out from reporter Anne Barnard and Peter Bouckaert of Human Rights Watch. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:07:00 +0000 editor 44199 at http://wdiy.org For Pregnant Women, New Guidelines Aim To Reduce Workplace Discrimination http://wdiy.org/post/pregnant-women-new-guidelines-aim-reduce-workplace-discrimination More than 35 years after the Pregnancy Discrimination Act was passed by Congress, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) has updated their guidelines. Host Michel Martin learns more. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:07:00 +0000 editor 44198 at http://wdiy.org America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. http://wdiy.org/post/americas-youth-orchestra-hits-road-time-playing-us <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7AvzsibovU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9k4SqNnb9A</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:14:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 44197 at http://wdiy.org America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. New Mix: The Rentals, Perfume Genius, The Bots, Zammuto http://wdiy.org/post/new-mix-rentals-perfume-genius-bots-zammuto We kick off this week's episode of <em>All Songs Considered</em> with the sludgy, shoegaze-y sounds of Whirr, a band started by Nick Bassett, bassist for one of co-host Robin Hilton's favorite acts of 2014, Nothing. We follow up with a new track from <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/239718803/the-bots">The Bots</a>, two young brothers from L.A. whose "All I Really Want" is a two-minute sugar rush of high-powered pop-punk.<p>Later on the show we welcome NPR Music's Daoud Tyler–Ameen and Jacob Ganz to the studio to play some of their favorite new tunes. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:04:00 +0000 editor 44196 at http://wdiy.org New Mix: The Rentals, Perfume Genius, The Bots, Zammuto U.S. Appeals Courts Issue Conflicting Decisions On Obamacare Subsidies http://wdiy.org/post/us-appeals-court-deals-blow-obamas-health-law A U.S. appeals court on Tuesday dealt a significant blow to the Affordable Care Act, when it threw out an IRS regulation that governs subsidies. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:49:00 +0000 editor 44194 at http://wdiy.org Ryan Adams, Live In Concert: Newport Folk Festival 2014 http://wdiy.org/post/ryan-adams-live-concert-newport-folk-festival-2014 <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/14953534/ryan-adams">Ryan Adams</a> used to be the picture of ramshackle prolificacy — a man with <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15394157/prince">Prince</a>'s desire to flood the market with product, not to mention an equally slippery grip on the quality-control lever. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:48:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 44193 at http://wdiy.org Ryan Adams, Live In Concert: Newport Folk Festival 2014