Doug Paisley On Mountain Stage

Nov 16, 2012
Originally published on June 19, 2014 2:44 pm

Canadian singer-songwriter Doug Paisley makes his first appearance on Mountain Stage, recorded live on the campus of Ohio University in Athens. Born in Toronto, Paisley makes music steeped in North American history and tradition. He spent 10 years on the road playing and singing in a Stanley Brothers tribute band, as well as working with another project called Live Country Music. Paisley eventually stepped out with his own songs, touring with indie-folk stalwart Bonnie 'Prince' Billy.

Paisley's 2008 album Constant Companion features contributions from Feist and The Band's Garth Hudson. His latest, Golden Embers, finds Paisley testing the boundaries of country and folk even further, while at the same time displaying a mastery of melody. This set includes two songs — "To and Fro" and No One but You" — which were not heard during the radio broadcast.

Set List

  • "We Weather"
  • "To And Fro"
  • "No One But You"
  • "End Of The Day"
  • "Broken In Two"
Copyright 2014 NPR. To see more, visit