TED Radio Hour http://wdiy.org en How Do Our Worst Moments Shape Us? http://wdiy.org/post/how-do-our-worst-moments-shape-us <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/335287595/growing-up">Growing Up</a>.<p><strong>About Andrew Solomon's TEDTalk</strong><p>Writer <a href="http://andrewsolomon.com/">Andrew Solomon</a> dives into his childhood to describe moments of great adversity, and how they helped him build identity.<p><strong>About Andrew Solomon</strong><p><a href="https://twitter.com/andrew_solomon">Andrew Solomon</a> writes about politics, culture, and psychology. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:10:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 44803 at http://wdiy.org How Do Our Worst Moments Shape Us? What Does It Mean To Be A 'Child Of The State'? http://wdiy.org/post/what-does-it-mean-be-child-state <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/335287595/growing-up">Growing Up</a>.<p><strong>About Lemn Sissay's TEDTalk</strong><p>Poet <a href="https://twitter.com/lemnsissay">Lemn Sissay</a> was raised by the state. He talks about the empty space where his family should have been.<p><strong>About Lemn Sissay</strong><p>Lemn Sissay is the author of <a href="http://lemnsissay.com/writing-2/books-2/">a series of poetry collections</a>. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:10:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 44804 at http://wdiy.org What Does It Mean To Be A 'Child Of The State'? Why Is Parenthood Filled With So Much Anxiety? http://wdiy.org/post/why-parenthood-filled-so-much-anxiety <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/335287595/growing-up">Growing Up</a>.<p><strong>About Jennifer Senior's TEDTalk</strong><p>Journalist <a href="http://www.jennifersenior.com/">Jennifer Senior</a> says the goal of raising happy children is so elusive it has put modern, middle-class parents into a panic. Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:10:00 +0000 editor 44805 at http://wdiy.org Why Is Parenthood Filled With So Much Anxiety? What Can Kids Learn By Doing Dangerous Things? http://wdiy.org/post/what-can-kids-learn-doing-dangerous-things <em>Part 1 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/335287595/growing-up">Growing Up</a>.<p><strong>About Gever Tulley's TEDTalk</strong><p>Tinkering School Founder <a href="https://twitter.com/gever">Gever Tulley</a> says that when kids are given sharp tools and matches, their imaginations take off and they become better problem-solvers.<p><strong>About Gever Tulley</strong><p>Software engineer Gever Tulley is the co-founder of <a href="http://www.tinkeringschool.com/">Tinkering School</a> — a weeklong camp where kids get to play with the Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:10:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 44806 at http://wdiy.org What Can Kids Learn By Doing Dangerous Things? How Do Our Near-Wins Motivate Us To Keep Going? http://wdiy.org/post/how-do-our-near-wins-motivate-us-keep-going <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About Sarah Lewis' TEDTalk</strong><p>Not everyone can win the gold medal, and historian Sarah Lewis says that's a good thing. It's the near-wins and bare losses that truly motivate us to master our destinies.<p><strong>About Sarah Lewis</strong><p>Author and art historian <a href="https://twitter.com/sarahelizalewis">Sarah Lewis</a> has emerged as a cultural powerhouse for her fresh perspectives on culture, history and identity. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:08:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 43990 at http://wdiy.org How Do Our Near-Wins Motivate Us To Keep Going? How Do We Use Our Challenges To Live Beyond Limits? http://wdiy.org/post/how-do-we-use-our-challenges-live-beyond-limits <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About Amy Purdy's TEDTalk</strong><p>Paralympic snowboarder and "Dancing With the Stars" finalist Amy Purdy tells how losing her legs at age 19 enabled her to achieve more than she ever dreamed.<p><strong>About Amy Purdy</strong><p>Paralympic snowboarder and "<a href="http://abc.go.com/shows/dancing-with-the-stars/cast/amy-purdy">Dancing With the Stars</a>" finalist <a href="http://www.amypurdy.com/">Amy Purdy</a> asks us to take control of ou Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:08:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 43993 at http://wdiy.org How Do We Use Our Challenges To Live Beyond Limits? Are Athletes Really Getting Faster, Better, Stronger? http://wdiy.org/post/are-athletes-really-getting-faster-better-stronger <em>Part 2 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About David Epstein's TEDTalk</strong><p>Humans seem to have gotten faster, better and stronger in almost every way. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:08:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 44009 at http://wdiy.org Are Athletes Really Getting Faster, Better, Stronger? What Does It Take To Dive Into Dangerous Waters? http://wdiy.org/post/what-does-it-take-dive-dangerous-waters <em>Part 1 of the </em>TED Radio Hour<em> episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/331331360/champions">Champions</a>.<p><strong>About Diana Nyad's TedTalk </strong><p>In pitch-black, stung by jellyfish, choking on salt water, hallucinating, Diana Nyad kept swimming. She describes the journey of her historic 110-mile swim from Cuba to Florida, at age 64.<p><strong>About Diana Nyad </strong><p>From 1969 to 1979, <a href="http://www.diananyad.com/">Diana Nyad</a> was known as the world's best long-distance swimmer. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:08:00 +0000 editor 43989 at http://wdiy.org What Does It Take To Dive Into Dangerous Waters? Does Copying In Fashion Keep It Fresh? http://wdiy.org/post/does-copying-fashion-keep-it-fresh <em>Part 3 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/321797073/whats-original">What Is Original?</a><p><strong>About Johanna Blakley's TEDTalk</strong><p>Copyright law barely touches fashion — and the industry benefits in innovation and sales, says Johanna Blakley. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 14:05:00 +0000 editor 42772 at http://wdiy.org Does Copying In Fashion Keep It Fresh? Where Do Good Ideas Come From? http://wdiy.org/post/where-do-good-ideas-come <em>Part 4 of the</em> TED Radio Hour <em>episode</em> <a href="http://www.npr.org/programs/ted-radio-hour/321797073/what-is-original">What Is Original?</a><p><strong><strong>About Steven Johnson's TEDTalk</strong></strong><p>Earlier this year, Tesla Motors CEO Elon Musk decided to give away his company's patents for free. It might seem like a strange business move, but Musk said he wanted to inspire creativity and accelerate innovation. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 13:58:00 +0000 NPR/TED Staff 42767 at http://wdiy.org Where Do Good Ideas Come From?