Tamara Keith http://wdiy.org en How To Be A Professional Triangle Player In 17 Easy Steps http://wdiy.org/post/how-be-professional-triangle-player-17-easy-steps The participatory journalist <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=98642668" target="_blank">George Plimpton</a> did many things. He boxed against Sugar Ray Robinson. He tried his hand as a high wire circus performer. Sat, 05 Jul 2014 11:45:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 43203 at http://wdiy.org How To Be A Professional Triangle Player In 17 Easy Steps Administration Focuses On Challenges Working Families Face http://wdiy.org/post/administration-focuses-challenges-working-families-face Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Now, a big part of President Obama's two national campaign victories was a promise to help working families. His critics complain that all these years later, he's still talking about some of the very same policy prescriptions with little to show for it. Today, ideas like paid sick and maternity leave and universal preschool will take center stage at the White House Summit on Working Families, so will the challenges faced by workers caring for their children and sometimes their parents. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 10:23:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 42470 at http://wdiy.org Political Solution Needed In Iraq, Obama Says http://wdiy.org/post/political-solution-needed-iraq-obama-says President Obama is sending up to 300 military advisers to Iraq to gather intelligence on the insurgency. He was adamant there will be no American combat operations on the ground in Iraq. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 10:20:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 42320 at http://wdiy.org Obama Plans To Send Advisers To Iraq, Leaving Air Strikes On Table http://wdiy.org/post/obama-plans-send-advisers-iraq-leaving-air-strikes-table Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. President Obama announced today that the U.S. will send up to 300 special forces advisers into Iraq. He says they'll gather intelligence and assist Iraqi security forces. This comes as radical Islamists continue to march toward Baghdad. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:12:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 42290 at http://wdiy.org Upset Of Eric Cantor Deals A Shock To GOP Establishment http://wdiy.org/post/upset-eric-cantor-deals-shock-gop-establishment Eric Cantor became the first house majority leader ever to lose a primary, losing the GOP nomination to Tea Party challenger David Brat in the Republican primary. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 01:26:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 41744 at http://wdiy.org What Happened To Unemployment Benefits? http://wdiy.org/post/what-happened-unemployment-benefits Five months have passed since the expiration of the emergency unemployment benefits program for the long-term unemployed. Amid congressional delays, it's unclear whether those benefits ever will be extended. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 41572 at http://wdiy.org Release Of Sgt. Bergdahl May Have Come At A High Cost http://wdiy.org/post/release-sgt-bergdahl-may-have-come-high-cost Bowe Bergdahl's release and the prisoner swap that made it possible are raising thorny foreign policy questions, which are being voiced most loudly at this point by congressional Republicans. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 09:13:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 41258 at http://wdiy.org New Acting VA Secretary Faces Cultural Challenges http://wdiy.org/post/new-acting-va-secretary-faces-cultural-challenges Eric Shinseki, secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs, has resigned over the growing health care scandal. He said remaining in office would only distract from carrying out needed reforms. Sat, 31 May 2014 11:46:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 41194 at http://wdiy.org VA Secretary Shinseki Steps Down Amid Reports Of Systemic Problems http://wdiy.org/post/va-secretary-shinseki-steps-down-amid-reports-systemic-problems Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Gen. Eric Shinseki is out as the Secretary of the Department of Veterans Affairs. That comes after bipartisan calls for his resignation and growing outrage over scheduling from the VA health system. NPR White House correspondent Tamara Keith reports.<p>TAMARA KEITH, BYLINE: Shinseki met with President Obama in the Oval Office this morning to brief him on a preliminary audit of the department. Fri, 30 May 2014 20:47:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 41167 at http://wdiy.org First Lady Fights To Keep Healthful School Lunch Law Intact http://wdiy.org/post/first-lady-fights-keep-healthy-school-lunch-law-intact First lady Michelle Obama is by far one of the most popular political figures in America, because she's largely avoided appearing too political — instead devoting much of her attention to encouraging good nutrition and healthful lifestyles for America's children.<p>But that cause has run head-on into a congressional fight over stalling some of the nutritional gains of the school lunch program, which she helped put in place.<p>As Obama sees it, the <a href="http://www.fns.usda.gov/school-meals/healthy-hunger-free-kids-act">Healthy, Hunger-Free Kids Act</a> of 2010 is working. Tue, 27 May 2014 20:44:00 +0000 Tamara Keith 40945 at http://wdiy.org First Lady Fights To Keep Healthful School Lunch Law Intact