Anastasia Tsioulcas http://wdiy.org en How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) http://wdiy.org/post/how-do-you-sweep-ivy-league-practice-viola-really By now, you may have <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/04/01/297879597/new-york-student-is-accepted-to-all-8-ivy-league-schools" target="_blank">heard</a> about Kwasi Enin, the impressive young man from Long Island who has been accepted into the classes of 2018 at Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, the University of Pennsylvania, Yale (all eight Ivy League universities) as well as Duke and three campuses of the State University of New York. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:14:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 37752 at http://wdiy.org How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) Latitudes: International Music You Must Hear Now http://wdiy.org/post/latitudes-international-music-you-must-hear-now-0 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fGcf3GODKE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cprez2G15LI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KFBKcl4CD0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyRCkO1o6hY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8UVv1ludZ8</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 21:07:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 37573 at http://wdiy.org Latitudes: International Music You Must Hear Now The Kronos Quartet: Still Daring After All These Years http://wdiy.org/post/kronos-quartet-still-daring-after-all-these-years Kronos Quartet is celebrating 40 years of playing music together — and to mark the occasion, they're playing a celebration concert at Carnegie Hall in New York tomorrow night. Since their founding, the San Francisco-based string quartet has become one of the most visible ensembles in classical music. The players have done it by championing new and underheard music, and by coming up with a business model that was unheard of for a chamber group four decades ago.<p>Violinist David Harrington dreamed up the idea of a string quartet devoted primarily to contemporary music in 1973. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 07:01:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 37327 at http://wdiy.org The Kronos Quartet: Still Daring After All These Years A Field Recording Bonus Track: The Silk Road Swings http://wdiy.org/post/field-recording-bonus-track-silk-road-swings We had so much fun taping cellist Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble's <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/294345739/yo-yo-ma-and-the-silk-road-ensemble-horse-around-in-brooklyn" target="_blank">Field Recording</a>, we couldn't stop at just one selection, so we recorded the group's four talented percussionists in a deep groove.<p>They're playing a piece written by Shane Shanahan called <em>Saidi Swing</em>. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 37278 at http://wdiy.org A Field Recording Bonus Track: The Silk Road Swings Welcome To Yo-Yo's Playhouse http://wdiy.org/post/welcome-yo-yos-playhouse When you're lucky enough to have cellist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15995808/yo-yo-ma" target="_blank">Yo-Yo Ma</a> and members of the <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/144696932/the-silk-road-ensemble-globalfest-2012" target="_blank">Silk Road Ensemble</a>, some of the world's premiere instrumentalists and composers, gather for an afternoon of offstage music making, you've got to think long and hard about where to put them. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 37279 at http://wdiy.org Welcome To Yo-Yo's Playhouse Kronos Quartet At 40: Songs We Love http://wdiy.org/post/kronos-quartet-40-songs-we-love <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1E4Bjt_zVJc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzvWiG5Lpzc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ANkFMjEEnJ4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVA0oX-bqog</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wnOJFuMKDE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUlMyYuEyXw</p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 12:58:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas & Alex Ambrose 37221 at http://wdiy.org Kronos Quartet At 40: Songs We Love In The First Violins — At Least For One Night http://wdiy.org/post/first-violins-least-one-night <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tm5BoFihAJw</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 16:52:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 36952 at http://wdiy.org In The First Violins — At Least For One Night Bless You! http://wdiy.org/post/bless-you <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mj4BFvwwj-o</p> Tue, 18 Mar 2014 15:21:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 36814 at http://wdiy.org Bless You! First Listen: Yasmine Hamdan, 'Ya Nass' http://wdiy.org/post/first-listen-yasmine-hamdan-ya-nass If you think you know what Middle Eastern music sounds like, think again — because Beirut-born electro-pop singer Yasmine Hamdan is positioning herself in an incredibly interesting place. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 03:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 36721 at http://wdiy.org First Listen: Yasmine Hamdan, 'Ya Nass' Music Takes Center Stage In Oscar-Nominated Documentaries http://wdiy.org/post/music-takes-center-stage-oscar-nominated-documentaries <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LrXHcQyixTE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=twB2zAOzsKE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kgRq_pGN2g</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 13:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 35858 at http://wdiy.org Music Takes Center Stage In Oscar-Nominated Documentaries