Tanya Ballard Brown http://wdiy.org en Michael Jackson, We Barely Knew You http://wdiy.org/post/michael-jackson-we-barely-knew-you <em>Just as there are those who seek to drag Mr. Jackson's name through the mud, there are those who insist that he was a saint, an angelic figure to be put on a pedestal. He was neither. Michael Jackson was, like all of us, a complicated human being. --</em> "Remember The Time: Protecting Michael Jackson In His Final Days"<p>When my <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/codeswitch/">Code Switch</a> cousins called me over and handed this book to me — telling me my whole Michael Jackson fan-life was preparing me for THIS book and this moment — I shifted to major side-eye mode. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 13:35:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 42618 at http://wdiy.org Michael Jackson, We Barely Knew You Beyonce, Jay Z And Solange Walk Into An Elevator ... http://wdiy.org/post/beyonce-jay-z-and-solange-walk-elevator Our lives are recorded all the time, and what we're seeing behind the curtain makes us wonder whether or not we should be looking back there in the first place.<p>The most recent example of this is <a href="http://www.tmz.com/videos/0_6lrpg6kh">the video of Solange Knowles</a> — Beyonce's younger sister — allegedly attacking Jay Z in an elevator while leaving a Met Ball afterparty last week. This happened — literally — behind closed doors. Wed, 14 May 2014 17:47:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 40172 at http://wdiy.org Beyonce, Jay Z And Solange Walk Into An Elevator ... Hey Hey Hey! Historian Draws Attention To '70s Black Animation Art http://wdiy.org/post/hey-hey-hey-historian-draws-attention-70s-black-animation-art <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B-WHnn_BPms</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kiWEyUMm5Lo</p> Tue, 24 Dec 2013 12:57:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 32443 at http://wdiy.org Hey Hey Hey! Historian Draws Attention To '70s Black Animation Art Dear Internet, It's Christmas. Please Stop Fighting About 'Love Actually' http://wdiy.org/post/dear-internet-its-christmas-please-stop-fighting-about-love-actually <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUm2K6eDuMU</p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 21:04:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown & Beth Novey 32291 at http://wdiy.org Dear Internet, It's Christmas. Please Stop Fighting About 'Love Actually' The Case For — And Against — Loving 'Love Actually' http://wdiy.org/post/case-and-against-loving-love-actually <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKuDoTdxvb0</p> Sat, 14 Dec 2013 10:12:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown & Jen Chaney 31913 at http://wdiy.org The Case For — And Against — Loving 'Love Actually' How About A Coke? Warhol Painting Up For Grabs http://wdiy.org/post/how-about-coke-warhol-painting-grabs On Tuesday, artist Andy Warhol's oversized and iconic <em>Coca-Cola (3)</em> will <a href="http://www.christies.com/about/press-center/releases/pressrelease.aspx?pressreleaseid=6701">hit the auction block at Christie's</a>, and to borrow an old slogan from the company, It's The Real Thing.<p>Warhol painted the 6-foot-tall black-and-white canvas in 1962 as part of a series of four Coke bottle paintings. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 20:35:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 30237 at http://wdiy.org How About A Coke? Warhol Painting Up For Grabs Why Didn't The Store Just Let Oprah Buy The $38,000 Handbag? http://wdiy.org/post/why-didnt-store-just-let-oprah-buy-38000-handbag On the list of things to be outraged about at the moment, I'll admit this isn't at the top: The Swiss tourism office apologized to Oprah on Friday because she wasn't allowed to buy a $38,000 designer handbag while recently shopping in Switzerland. Poor lil' Oprah. *sad face*<p>It does make me wonder, though, can you ever be rich enough or famous enough or beautiful enough to not be racially profiled while shopping?<p>First, here's what happened. Sat, 10 Aug 2013 08:38:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 25079 at http://wdiy.org Awkwardly Awaiting The Zimmerman Trial's Outcome http://wdiy.org/post/awkwardly-awaiting-zimmerman-trials-outcome <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RRUfzs6I4jk</p> Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:40:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 23425 at http://wdiy.org Awkwardly Awaiting The Zimmerman Trial's Outcome Stuff You Might Have Missed In The Paula Deen Brouhaha http://wdiy.org/post/stuff-you-might-have-missed-paula-deen-brouhaha <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nu6Us7fpr00</p> Thu, 20 Jun 2013 22:34:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 22226 at http://wdiy.org Stuff You Might Have Missed In The Paula Deen Brouhaha If This Cute Cheerios Ad Causes Drama, What Won't? http://wdiy.org/post/if-cute-cheerios-ad-causes-drama-what-wont <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kYofm5d5Xdw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eHh0bqD78b0</p> Sat, 01 Jun 2013 11:03:00 +0000 Tanya Ballard Brown 21090 at http://wdiy.org If This Cute Cheerios Ad Causes Drama, What Won't?